reLentless Commuting – Day 5

Standard

Day 5: Will it ever end?

Not Lent, that will end (35 days and counting). I mean commuting, which has become relentless in our modern society.

Yesterday I was invited to my friend’s house to help her experiment with some new recipes. She lives in the same city that I do, but the journey took over an hour; over 2 hours’ round trip. The last time I visited her, it took me 2 and a half hours just to get home.

Going to see my family takes less time than getting across London from a night out. And yet, we continue to live this way because it is the destination and not the journey that counts.

Commuting is such an integral part of modern living that we think nothing of hours, cumulative days, even weeks spent in a cocoon of our own making, which celebrates little more than the power of outdoor advertising campaigns and exposes the loss of community living.

I am currently without a church, which worries my parents. For a while I was at my local church, but found myself the only one in my age group, living situation and with a liberal theology at odds with other congregants. And so I must shop around – a phrase I abhor, but feels most accurate in light of the investment most churches ultimately expect hope for from their members.

This is a chance to find out how reLentless commuting really is:

  • How far will I go to find a church?
  • How far do other people?
  • And is it a good thing that we choose to commute rather than find or establish community closer to home?
Leave a Reply

