20 Questions (for a Sunday night)

Take 30 minutes every Sunday and give yourself the gift of self reflection.  It has worked wonders for me, and I am confident it will do the same for you.

Marc and Angel Hack Life

I’ve been enjoying perusing Life Hacks over the last few weeks. A lifehack is “a strategy or technique adopted in order to manage one’s time and daily activities in a more efficient way”. It’s also a great source of content for Pinterest.

They’re also not always all that effective, as this video from Mental Floss demonstrates. But it looks like great fun testing them out.

However this particular life hack is less about time efficiency and more about mindfulness: taking time to reflect each week on your life experiences, hopes and dreams.

I found myself starting on the first few questions with interest and enthusiasm, only to fall down the rabbit hole of my limitations and failings. Question 9, for instance, “What have I been avoiding that needs to get done?” Oh dear. No sooner had I started considering my unfinished list of Things to Do than I started pondering the other things I hadn’t quite got round to: replying to emails, keeping in touch with friends, visiting Canada.

I’m not sure I’m ready to spend this much energy on self-reflection on a Sunday night. It’s exhausting enough picking out an outfit after 2 days spent in jeans and a hoody. Or perhaps I can try half the questions now and the other half tomorrow morning on the way into work?

~ by commutertheology on February 16, 2014.

One Response to “20 Questions (for a Sunday night)”

  1. Only 90s for each of those questions? That clearly can’t be classed as proper reflection!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

